Modest Fashion

My Style

Hi, there! And welcome to my new category of fashion-related stuff. For this first post, I plan to share my personal style & stuff that I generally like. Not that this is entirely my style (It is still developing and changing over time), but it is at least a glimpse of where I think I’m headed.

Alright-y, enough of the speculating about the future. (We’ll find out about that soon enough. Haha!) For now, let’s get on with the post! 😀

Left to right starting on the top row: modest casual classic outfit, stripe maxi skirt outfit, modest black midi dress, Dior new look dress 1950s Paris, modest denim dress (Photo from Little J Style)

Parisian Chic/Classic. For this first category, we have the Parisian Chic/Classic look. I love all the neutral colors in this style, because it’s so easy to spice it up and completely change the outfit with a simple pop of color. But what I love most about this style is that it’s not really changing; it’s a classic look. A lot of my clothes are in neutral colors (mostly gray scale), but I keep a collection of colorful scarves, cardigans, hats, and shoes to finish the outfit.

Left to right starting on the top row: coral stripe dress from Neesee’s Dresses, vintage navy sailor dress, navy stripe dress (also from Neesee’s), beach stripe dress from DM Fashion, floppy hat with ribbon.

Nautical. Despite the fact that I’m not crazy about going to the beach, I do love the nautical style. There’s something bright and breezy about it that I seem to find appealing. Plus I really like the stripes. It is somewhat like the classic style, I know, but I figured it’s different enough to merit its own category. 🙂

Left to right starting on the top row: 1970s maxi dress, 1940s collared dresses, 1900s Gibson Girl portrait, 1860s Civil War era day dresses, 1916 fashion plate

Vintage. I LOVE the vintage style. Need I say any more? 😉 The 1940s is probably my favorite decade, but I can find something nice from almost any era. (And no, I am not talking about the modern, retro, pinup-girl look.) I kinda see the 1940s as my “base” decade while I snatch inspiration from other times as well. Up on the inspiration list for me is Civil War era (1860’s), 1900’s turn of the century (like 1890’s – 1910’s), and 1970’s maxi dresses. Who’d have guessed I liked something from the 70s? Um, yeah,… but there’s a story behind that.

Left to right starting on the top row: 1940 summer dress, 1887 work dress (Shadow Decoration painting by Charles Courtney Curran), 1860s Civil War era day dress, 1940s summer fashion, 1970s prairie dress.

Rural. I’m not really sure what this style is called, but it’s kind of like pioneer, country, farm, prairie, and folksy all mixed together. I guess it’s a rural look. And no wonder I like it – I’m a rural girl! For some reason I seem to wear this style mostly in spring and autumn. Maybe because it’s the planting and harvesting seasons, but I’m not sure. Anyway, I like the look.

Left to right starting on the top row: (Summer in the Mountains painting by Hans Dahl) Norwegian, German, Ukrainian, Chinese, and Mexican traditional dress.

Ethnic. Now I don’t really have any completely foreign outfits, but I do like to mix a little ethnic look into what I wear. Most of this style is still on my to-do list, but I’m working on it. Someday I’d like to have an authentic dirndl, a traditional sarafan, a kimono-ish style dress (not sure if I’ll ever do the complete look), and definitely one of those lovely white Mexican dancing dresses! I mean, look at how full that skirt is!

Left to right starting on the top row: 1900’s Gibson Girl, dark blue floral dress, 1950’s chiffon dress, blue floral dress, 1970’s Gunne Sax dress

Feminine. Most important of all, I want my clothes to convey the message that I am a woman, a daughter of the King, and I am proud of it. I do this mostly by always wearing a skirt or dress, but of course, this style is more than just that. When I think feminine, I think pink, white, lace, ruffles, flowers, pastels, and delicate fabric (such as chiffon). And perhaps some fairies and sparkles, as well. 😉 I’ve never really had the opportunity to go all-out with this style, but I’d love to try it someday.

So there you have it – a quick rundown of my style. Drop a comment below and let me know your thoughts.

What is your style? What is your favorite era for fashion? Do you ever like to try out different styles?

I look forward to sharing more modest fashion posts with you, but until then,…

Tra-la, and have a completely enchanting day. 💕

“Tommy” Claire

7 thoughts on “My Style

    1. Oh, yes! I love having a little something vintage-y in all of my outfits, but it definitely gets quite expensive to go completely vintage. Most of my vintage pieces have been thrifted or gifted and gathered over the years, so I haven’t spent too much on it. 😉 Thanks for commenting, dear, and have a lovely day!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Love this!

    I used to dress up in Civil War clothes on Memorial day and wear them to our Memorial Day service. It was so much fun! Last year I dressed up in a WWII style outfit I made myself. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment